Northeastern and North Central Pennsylvania

Geisinger Commonwealth is located in northeast and north central Pennsylvania, offering a community-based model of medical education with four regional campuses – North (Scranton), South (Wilkes-Barre), Central (Danville), and Guthrie (Sayre). Each of these campuses is an integral part of the College’s distributive model of medical education and provides students with early clinical experiences in diverse settings.

Beginning on the very first day of their medical education, students are a part of the community. Each student is assigned to a regional campus, a physician mentor, and a Family Centered Experience Program family to follow throughout the first two years of their education.

Students receive early clinical experience as they work with their volunteer family, standardized patients, and their physician mentor during (3) one-week rotations in the regions in both year 1 and year 2. In addition to early clinical education, students participate in Community Health Research Projects (CHRPs) and Quality Improvement Community Collaboratives (QuICCs) to gain research experience, investigate and/or solve a community health issue, make an immediate impact on their regional campus community, and enhance the health of the regional citizens.

We are focused on developing a diverse community of physicians who are skilled in evidence-based medicine and the latest technology.

North Campus

Campus Location: Medical Sciences Building in Scranton

Counties: Lackawanna, Wyoming, Wayne, Susquehanna,
Monroe, and Pike

South Campus

South Campus

Campus Location: Wilkes-Barre General Hospital in Wilkes-Barre

Counties: Luzerne, Carbon, Columbia, Montour, and Schuylkill

Central Campus

Campus Location: Geisinger Medical Center in Danville

Counties: Clinton, Cumberland, Montour, Dauphin, Lycoming, Northumberland, Snyder, and Union

Guthrie Campus

Guthrie Campus

Campus Location: Guthrie in Sayre

Counties: Pennsylvania – Bradford, Tioga, Lycoming, Wyoming, Sullivan, Susquehanna; New York – Steuben, Chemung, Tompkins, Tioga, Schuyler, Broome