Research Investigators

John A. Arnott, PhD

Phone: 570-504-9066

Email: jarnott@tcmc.edu

Interests: Mechanisms that control bone formation and skeletogenesis

David B. Averill, PhD

Phone: 570-207-3680

Email: daverill@tcmc.edu

Interests: Cardiovascular Disease

Jennifer M. Boardman, PhD

Phone: 570-504-9638

Email: JBoardman@tcmc.edu

Interests: Innate immunity in the female reproductive tract

Michael Bordonaro, PhD

Phone: 570-504-9646

Email: mbordonaro@tcmc.edu

Interests: Colorectal cancer, gene therapy, adaptive mutation in cancer. Wnt signaling in colorectal cancer, and human aging.

Carmine Cerra, MD

Phone: 570-955-1316

Email: ccerra@tcmc.edu

Interests: Cancer Biology

Youngjin Cho, PhD

Phone: 570-687-9717

Email: YCho@tcmc.edu

Interests: Regulation of Bone Formation; Regulation of Adipogenesis and obesity (Physiological role of Src family kinases and their adaptor proteins in bone formation, adipogenesis, and lipogenesis); Animal model of bone formation and adipogenesis.

Jess Cunnick, PhD

Phone: 570-955-1311

Email: jcunnick@tcmc.edu

Interests: Actin cytoskeleton and associated proteins

Jeffrey Holt, MD

Phone: 570-955-1336

Email: jholt@tcmc.edu

Interests: Cancer genetics, breast cancer and ovarian cancer

Raj Kumar, PhD

Phone: 570-504-9675

Email: rkumar@tcmc.edu

Interests: Structure: function studies of the steroid hormone receptors

Darina Lazarova, PhD

Phone: 570-504-9645

Email: dlazarova@tcmc.edu

Interests: Molecular biology of cancer

Jun Ling, PhD

Phone: 570-504-9644

Email: jling@tcmc.edu

Interests: Regulation of cancer development by signal transduction, gene transcription and translation

Sonia Lobo Planey, PhD

Phone: 570-504-9629

Email: splaney@tcmc.edu

Interests: My research interests are primarily in signal transduction and cancer biology. I have spent the last few years studying protein palmitoylation and developing a proteomic method to identify substrates of palmitoyl acyl transferases (PATs)—the enzymes that mediate palmitoylation. Despite their recent discovery (2002), many PATs have already been linked to human disease. One compelling example is the association of ZDHHC2 with cancer. ZDHHC2 encodes the PAT, DHHC2, and is deleted in many types of cancer. Its absence in cells is highly correlated with metastasis; therefore, investigating the function of this gene in established cancer cell lines will allow me to better understand its role in preventing metastasis. DHHC2 modifies specific cellular proteins with a small, regulatory lipid called palmitate. One substrate of this enzyme is CKAP4/p63 which is a cell-surface receptor for antiproliferative factor (APF)—a small molecule that is thought to cause a painful, chronic bladder disorder called interstitial cystitis. The signaling networks under the control of the ZDHHC2 gene are important to cancer and bladder disease and are the current focus of my research.

Pamela Lucchesi, PhD, FAHA

Phone: 570-504-9658

Email: PLucchesi@tcmc.edu

Interests: Cardiovascular Disease

William McLaughlin, PhD

Phone: 570-504-9633

Email: wmclaughlin@tcmc.edu

Interests: Structural bioinformatics, translational bioinformatics

Brian J. Piper, PhD, MS

Phone: (570) 558-4264

Email: bpiper@tcmc.edu

Interests: Psychopharmacology, pharmacoepidemiology, behavioral neurology methods development, medical ethics

Gregory A. Shanower, PhD

Phone: 570-504-9670

Email: gshanower@tcmc.edu

Interests: Epigenetic gene regulation in Drosophila melanogaster

Ying-Ju Sung, PhD

Phone: 570- 687-9716

Email: ysung@tcmc.edu

Interests: Identification of signals and genes expressed during the cascade of events resulting from nerve injury or inflammation to primary sensory neurons.

John L. Szarek, PhD, CHSE

Phone: 570-955-1322

Email: jszarek@tcmc.edu

Interests: Technology in medical education and students' emotions during learning

Gabi N. Waite, PhD

Phone: 570-955-1329

Email: GWaite@tcmc.edu

Interests: Cardiovascular Disease