Service Opportunity Agencies

Northeast and central Pennsylvania is home to hundreds of non-profit organizations that aid the health and wellness of our communities. Most non-profit organizations welcome student volunteers for various projects and programs throughout the year. The following is a brief list of organizations in our local communities that welcome Geisinger Commonwealth student volunteers.

For additional information on non-profit organizations in our area that offer service opportunities, please contact the Student Affairs Department, Department of Family Medicine and Community Health or the Office of Community Engagement and Equity.

Opportunities by Campus:

North Campus Opportunities

American Cancer Society
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Desiree Voitek
desiree.voitek@cancer.org
712 Keyser Ave.
Scranton, PA 18517

American Diabetes Association
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Dawn Fernandez
dfernandez@diabetes.org
PO Box 4383
Bethlehem, PA 18018
610-814-2701

American Red Cross
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Shea Maureen
maureen.shea@redcross.org
545 Jefferson Ave.
Scranton, PA 18510
570-207-0108

AmeriCorp VISTA for Eckley Miner’s Village
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Kim Barton
Knbarton09@gmail.com
2 Eckley Main St
Weatherly, PA 18255
570-636-2070

Anthracite Heritage Museum
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Ed D’Amico
edamico@pa.gov
22 Bald Mountain Rd
Scranton, PA 18504
570-963-4845

Arc of NEPA
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Pat Quinn
pquinn@thearcnepa.org
1115 Meadow Ave.
Scranton, PA 18505

AseraCare Hospice
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Carol Burti
carol.burti@aseracare.com
749 Northern Blvd
Clarks Summit, PA 18411
800-870-0085

Better Tomorrows
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Nicole Barrasee
nicole.barrasse@bettertomorrows.org
100 Townhouse Blvd
Scranton, PA 18508
570-346-8874

Big Brother Big Sisters
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Jenny Gonzalez
538 Spruce St
Scranton, PA 18503
Jenny.gonzalez@nepabbbs.org

Blue Chip Animal Rescue
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Marg Bart
974 Lockville Road
Dallas, PA 18612-9465
570- 333-5265

Boys & Girls Clubs of Northeastern Pennsylvania
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Laura Gentile,
609 Ash Street
Scranton, PA 18510
Phone: 570-342-8709 ext. 114
lgentile@bgcnepa.org

Carbondale YMCA
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Lorrie Williams
82 N Main St
Carbondale, PA 18407
570-282-2210

Catherine McAuley Center
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Jenny Blanchard
430 Pittston Ave;
Scranton, PA 18505
570-342-1342
jsblanchard24@gmail.com

Celtic Health Care
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Kelly McAndrew
570-239-0191
mcandrewk@celtichealthcare.com

Commonwealth Home Health and Hospice
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
746 Jefferson Ave
Scranton, PA 18510
Lisa Kriby
570-348-7372
lisa_kirby@chs.net

Compassionate Care Hospice
Nancy Cipriano
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
429 South Main St
Old Forge, PA 18518
570-451-1031
nancy.cipriano@cchnet.net

CONCERN Northeast Regional Office
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Joseph Monczewski
829 Scranton-Carbondale Highway
Eynon, PA 18403-1020
570-876-3800
concern@concern4kids.org

Dress for Success Lackawanna
lackawanna@dressforsuccess.org
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Mary Ann Iezzi
431 N. 7th Ave. Suite B
Scranton, PA 18503
570-941-0339

Eckley Miner’s Village
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Kim Barton
3 Eckley Maint St.
Weatherly, PA 18255
570-636-2070
knbarton09@gmail.com

Friends of the Poor
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Sister Ann
Jackson Terrace
148 Meridian Avenue
Scranton, PA 18504
570-348-4428 or 570-348-4429
friendsofthepoor@frontiernet.net

Greater Scranton YMCA
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Paul Schotchlas
706 N Blakely St.; Dunmore, PA 18512
570-342-8115
pscotchlas@greaterscrantonymca.org

Griffin Pond Animal Shelter
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Jessica Farrell
967 Griffin Pond Rd
South Abington Township, PA 18411
570-586-3700
jessfarrell@griffinpondanimalshelter.com

Habitat for Humanity
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Ken Quigley
570-602-3747

Heartland Hospice
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Jillian Dalton
613 Baltimore Drive Suite 3
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
570-654-0220
officestaff16@HCR-manorcare.com

Hospice Community Care
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Kelly Mcandrew
100 William Street @ Clay Avenue
(Hospice Inpatient Unit)
Dunmore, PA 18510
Direct Dial: 570-718-4569 x4569

Hospice of the Sacred Heart
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Ann Seeschock
600 Baltimore Dr
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
570-592-2535
aseechock@hospicesacredheart.org

The Jewish Community Center
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Tim Lauffenberger
601 Jefferson Ave
Scranton, PA 18510
570-346-6595 x135

The Jewish Home of Eastern Pennsylvania
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Colleen Knight
cknight2@frontier.com
1101 Vine Street
Scranton, PA 18510
570-344-6177; ext 140

Junior Achievement of NEPA
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Maria Delucca
1122 Oak Street,
Pittston Township PA 18640
(570) 602-3600

Keystone Rescue Mission Alliance
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Kathy Regan
8 W. Olive St
Scranton, PA
570-877-4795
kathy.regan@krmalliance.org

Lackawanna Blind Assoc
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Mary Claire Boylan
228 Adams Ave
Scranton, PA 18503
570-342-7613 ext 4
mcboylan@lackawannablind.org

Lackawanna Branch Pennsylvania Association for the Blind
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Janet May
228 Adams Avenue, Scranton
Pennsylvania 18503
Phone: 570-342-7613

Lackawanna Heritage Valley
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Owen Worozbyt
213 South Seventh Ave
Scranton, PA 18505
570-963-6730 x 8212

Lourdesmont Youth and Family Services
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Denise McLaud
1327 Wyoming Ave
Scranton, PA 18509
570-702-8627
dmclaud@lourdesmont.org

Make A Wish
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Maggie O’Brien
Regional Manager
Make-A-Wish® Greater Pennsylvania and Southern West Virginia
570-341-9474

Meals on Wheels
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Shannon Cooper
541 Wyoming Ave
Scranton, PA 18509
Meals on Wheels NEPA
shannoncooper@verizon.net
570-346-2421

Moses Taylor HELP Program
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Sonia Sandhaus, CRNP, HELP Program Director
700 Quincy Avenue
Scranton, PA 18510
Phone: (570) 340-3452 or (570) 340-2161
ssandhaus@mth.org

NeighborWorks NEPA
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Karissa Tugend
709 Market St
Scranton, PA 18509
570-558-2490
ktugend@nwnepa.org

NEPA Affiliate of Pancreatic Cancer Action Network
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Teresa Grabowski
tgrabowski@pancanvolunteer.org

Northeast Regional Cancer Institute
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Patricia Lawless
334 Jefferson Ave
Scranton, PA 18510
Ph: 570-941-7984

NEPA Susan G. Komen
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Roseann Brutico
570-457-2285
rbrutico@aol.com

Oak Leaf Therapeutic Horsemanship
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Hedy Rittermeyer
103 Oakley Lane;
Nicholson, PA 18446
570-945-3299
admin@oakleafthc.org

Prevention of Blindness
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Janet May
228 Adams Avenue
Scranton, Pennsylvania 18503
Phone: 570-342-7612; option 2

Ronald McDonald House
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Benjamin Loomis
332 Wheeler Ave
Scranton, PA 18510
Benjaminloomis@yahoo.com
570-689-8998

Scranton Tomorrow
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Leslie Collins
1011 N. Main Avenue
Scranton, PA 18508
Phone 570-963-5901

Serving Seniors
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Linda Korgeski
Scranton Life Building
538 Spruce Street, Suite 408
Scranton, PA 18503
570-344-3931

St. Francis Kitchen
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Chick DePietro
500 Penn Avenue
Scranton, PA 18509
570-342-5556 option 2

St. Joseph’s Center
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Kathy Norton
2010 Adams Avenue
Scranton, Pennsylvania 18509
570-342-8379 or 800-786-6346
knorton@stjosephscenter.org

The Advocacy Alliance
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Joan Peterson
846 Jefferson Ave; Scranton, PA 18501
570-558-3971
jp@theadvocacyalliance.org

The Arc of NEPA
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Pat Quinn
570-207-0825
pquinn@thearcnepa.org

United Cerebral Palsy
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Barbara Siarkievicz
b.siarkievicz@ucpnepa.org
425 Wyoming Avenue
Scranton, PA 18503
Phone: 570-347-3357

Voluntary Action Center
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Jennifer Wynn
Jwynn@vacnepa.org

Visiting Nurse Association
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
Claire Festa
301 Delaware Ave.
Olyphant, Pa. 18447
570-383-5180

Women’s Resource Center
Contact/Volunteer Coordinator:
PO Box 975
Scranton, PA 18501
570-346-4460 ext 242
nancyp@wrcnepa.org

South Campus Opportunities

Alzheimer’s Association
Tamara Bortree
57 N Franklin Street
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701
Greater Pennsylvania Chapter
Phone: 570-822-9915

Blue Chip Animal Rescue
Marg Bart
974 Lockville Road
Dallas, PA 18612-9465
Phone: 570-333-5265

Catholic Youth Center
msorber@wyomingvalleycyc.org
Miranda Sorber
36 South Washington Street
Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania 18701
Phone: 570-823-6121 ext 280

Child Development Council of NEPA
South Wilkes-Barre Center
1000 South Main St
St. Peter’s Church
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone: 829-1021, Star 3

Wilkes-Barre Center
161 East Market St.
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
824-1625, Star 3
Margie Morgan, RN, Health and Nutrition Coordinator
margiemcdc@aol.com
Phone: 570-829-2446

Commission of Economic Development
Maura Modrovsky
165 Amber Lane
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone: 570-826-0510×215

Habitat for Humanity
Dawn Hapeman
Wyoming Valley Habitat for Humanity
Phone: 570-820-8002
Email: info@wv-hfh.org

Hospice Community Care
Kelly McAndrew
25 Church Street
(Hospice Inpatient Unit @ Geisinger South Wilkes-Barre)
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18765
Phone: 570-718-4569 x4569

Hospice of the Sacred Heart
Ann Seechok
600 Baltimore Drive
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone: 570-706-2400
Email: aseechock@hospicesacredheart.org

Junior Achievement
Rianna Carlisle
1122 Oak Street
Pittston Township, PA 18640
Phone: 570-602-3600

McGlynn Center
Sister Miriam Stadulis, RSM
72 Midland Court
Wilkes Barre, PA 18702
Phone: 570-824-8891

Osterhout Free Library
Elaine Schall
71 S Franklin St
Wilkes Barre Pa 18701
Phone: 570-823-0156 ext 231
Email: eschall@osterhout.lib.pa.us

Step by Step
Marbee Sulitka
51 Gravel Street
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone: (570)822-5653 ext. 308
Email: msulitka@stepbystepusa.com

United Rehabilitation Services
Joe Pierangeli
287 Penn Ave
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701
Phone: 570-829-3681

Wilkes-Barre Family YMCA
Joseph E. Barket, ACSM-CPT
40 W. Northampton St.
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701
Phone: 570-823-2191 ext. 112
Email: joe.barket@wbymca.org

Wyoming Valley Children’s Association
Teresa C Romano
1133 Wyoming Ave
Forty Fort, PA 18704
Phone: 570-714-1246